Red Zone investigation wins regional Emmy

BLOOMINGTON – The Red Zone, an investigation into sexual assaults at Indiana University, won a regional Emmy award from the Great Lakes Central Chapter.

The Red Zone took top honors in the “News reporter – serious news” category. Reporter Mary-Claire Molloy led the ongoing investigation through a partnership with the Arnolt Center for Investigative Journalism and IU NewsNet.

Mary Claire Molloy standing in front of a screen that says "The Red Zone"

Arnolt Center and IU NewsNet reporters Yetla Reyna, Hali Tauxe, Kayan Tara, Noah Harrison, Lizzie DeSantis, Mitchell Tiedman, Ella Rhoades and Griffin Gonzalez also worked on the Red Zone investigation.

In April, the Red Zone investigation won top honors in the regional Mark of Excellence Awards for “television in-depth news.” The story will now compete against winners from 11 other SPJ regions for a national Mark of Excellence Award.

The national Mark of Excellence Award winners will be announced at MediaFest22 in October.